The Lux Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout

lux.jpg

There are five books in the Lux series written by Jennifer L. Armentrout and one book told in the perspective of the love interest. They are a science-fiction, romance young adult series, where the first instalment Obsidian was published in 2011.

My mistake buying this series was that I could have bought the first two books as one, rather than two separate books. I definitely did not want the series with different covers on my book shelf, so I bought Lux: Beginnings instead of buying just the second book.

Aside from my stupid mistake, I enjoyed the Lux series. It was captivating, humorous, and intense. I have not read a series in a really long time, where the last time I did was when I was 14-years-old, so five years ago.

In the series, the narrator Katy meets Daemon and his sister Dee immediately when Katy moves next door to them in West Virginia. Daemon comes across as cruel and intimidating, whereas Dee comes across as sweet and welcoming. If not for Dee, then Katy would have never gotten involved with the alien that is Daemon.

Obsidian covers the early stages in the relationship with Daemon, the friendship with Dee, the introduction to aliens, and starting at a new school. Without having read Obsidian, the next books are difficult to explain, but in short they are full of aliens, and the relationship between the protagonists.

There is a love triangle between Katy, Daemon and Blake, who is introduced in Onyx. I actually enjoyed the love triangle, as it made things interesting between Katy and Daemon. The sarcastic banter that occurred between Daemon and Blake was comedic, which made Oynx my favourite out of the five books.

I preferred Katy to Daemon because Daemon was rude and unappealing in the beginning. While their arguing and hatred for each other was fun to read, I did not like how Daemon sometimes treated Katy. The main character Katy was a very likeable character because of her relatability. She loved to read and had her own book blog that she posted to regularly.

A flaw in the secondary characters, however, was Clarissa and Lissa. Neither of them showed any depth and they could have been the exact same person, even though they were supposed to have different personalities.

The books got progressively more full of action, but unfortunately I thought that the writing and plot worsened. I started to enjoy it less as I continued to read, most likely due to the amount of far-fetched alien action present in the later books.

One death in the novel really disappointed me, and it was difficult to read about and process. Some of the other deaths confused me, and overall sometimes felt like happened so that it would shock the readers. However, the twists were usually exciting and made me want to continue reading.

The Lux series would be enjoyed by teenagers and those who are a fan of reading romance and science fiction. I do not particularly find science fiction interesting to read about, but aliens are a fascinating subject.

IMG_4106

Ratings

Obsidianscreen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-39-17-pm

Onyx:screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-37-01-pm

Opal: screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-39-17-pm

Origin: screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-38-29-pm

Opposition: screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-38-57-pm

Overall: screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-39-17-pm


screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

Leave a Reply

