Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Publication Date: 4 April 2017

Publisher: Quirk Books

Genre: Young Adult

Pages: 320

Rating: 1.5 stars.png

Screen Shot 2017-05-20 at 8.19.19 pm

Synopsis

Geekerella follows Elle and Darien, two teenagers who have one thing in common: Starfield. Elle is Starfield obsessed – she runs a blog about it and has watched the television series numerous times. Darien is set to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the new film adaptation, but the fandom are not happy about his casting. People like Elle see him as another teen heartthrob without any interest in the Starfield world. When a cosplay event at ExcelsiCon is announced, Elle sees it as a chance to leave her awful family and use the prize of a plane ticket to escape.

“The stepmonster is at it again.

Raffles, discount options, and magazine sweepstakes lay strewn across the kitchen table. My stepmom sits straight-backed in one of the creaky wooden chairs, delicately cutting out another coupon, dyed blonde hair piled on top of her head in perfect ringlets, lipstick the color of men’s heartblood.”

Review

This novel was such an enjoyable read! I sped through it and loved reading about Elle’s life. She is a troubled yet intuitive character who spends her summer working for a vegan food truck. While her step-mother and step-sisters are catty, they show a sense of compassion at various times, even though I don’t understand their motivations. As it is a retelling of Cinderella, the story felt very familiar, but it manages to both break away from the original and stick to its important themes.

In the new Geekerella story, Elle and Darien are friends via text, but dislike each other when they meet. This is a trope that I really enjoy but don’t often read. It’s quite similar to hate to love. They have a clear love for the show Starfield, which is really fun to read about if you have ever loved a show, band etc. The admiration for this show is very evident in the novel, and also the small details about it are insightful. Starfield is an escape for Elle because of her experiences with her father when she was younger, so her excitement for the show really comes across.

I liked Elle as a character but did not like Darien as much. This could be due to his superiority complex he possesses because of his celebrity nature. I think the author certainly toned it down a fair bit, as his love for Starfield makes him soft, but he still comes across as slightly douchey. So I can see why Elle does not like his on-screen persona. His parts of the novel are also not as interesting as Elle’s, and I wouldn’t have cared if the book was solely from the perspective of Elle.

There is a friendship that comes out of Elle’s time at work with Sage that I thought transpires in a very organic way. Sage comes off as mean at first, and their eventual friendship delighted me because it seemed like Elle really needed it.

My favourite part of the novel is a spoiler, but it is a certain relationship that surprised me! I absolutely loved that pairing. Although the way they get together is especially cheesy, I really appreciated the change in both of their characters.

There are a few unanswered questions in the end. Instead of having an epilogue, I thought it would give an opportunity for a sequel, but I don’t know if that will happen. I would definitely read a sequel. I do see how the epilogue makes everything come together in a fairytale way, like an actual fairytale, which seems to make sense. It did border on the line of unrealistic though.

For its entertainment aspects and unique take on Cinderella, I have rated Geekerella by Ashley Poston 4 stars. I would recommend it to fans of fairytale retellings, young adult and romance.


  • Have you read Geekerella?

Image Map
5 Comments

  1. I loved this book!!! Definitely a quick enjoyable read! ☺️ I loved Darien. I think he knew that he had a superiority complex and tried to get away from it. I can’t really blame him when everyone was giving him exactly what he wanted all the time. And I just loved that he was African American! *swoon!*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

