BookTube-A-Thon

Last week I half-arsed participated in the BookTube-A-Thon! I know I just did a reading challenge, but I saw that so many people were participating, and it made me want to join in.

The 2017 BookTube-A-Thon is hosted by Ariel Bissett and has been happening every year since 2013. This year is ran between 24 July to 30 July 2017. Check out the BookTubeAThon YouTube page for more information.

The 2017 Reading Challenges

There were seven reading challenges. This is how I went with each of them:

1. Read a book with a person on the cover

I did not have a book in my TBR with a person on the cover. But I did read Misery, and in one of the editions there are people on the cover, so maybe that counts?

2. Read a hyped book

IMG_2087

One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus is very hyped! I did actually finish it and really enjoyed it.

3. Finish a book in one day

I wasn’t quite able to do this one!

4. Read about a character that is very different from you

Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 9.15.14 pm

I read Misery by Stephen King, and the main character is very different from me. He’s a man in his fifties (or forties, I don’t know if he was talking about the past or present). He has written eight novels, a few of them are very popular, which has never happened to me!

5. Finish a book completely outdoors

I didn’t even try to attempt this! It’s too cold.

6. Read a book you bought because of the cover

Screen Shot 2017-06-22 at 9.45.53 pm

One of the reasons that I bought Carry On by Rainbow Rowell is because of the cover. But I actually did not read it, so…never mind.

7. Read seven books

Fail – I couldn’t read so many! I managed to read only two books. Ooops.

BookTube Challenges

I thought it would still work if I did the BookTube challenges as a blog post compiled together. I only did a few of them though.

Day 1 – Book Monster

In this challenge you had to create a monster out of the words in the book you were reading. On Day 1 I was reading Misery by Stephen King.

IMG_2089

The monster I created is called Bubble Brat and its personality traits are that it is prim, but displays enthusiastic, emotional terror. Sorry if the photo is too hard to read.

Day 2 – Say My Name

The challenge for Day 2 was to spell out the name of your favourite book using other books that you own. My favourite book is It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover.

IMG_2092.JPG

Day 5 – Class Reading List

This challenge involves creating a reading list for a class that teaches a specific topic. (Also include a book from the BookTube-A-Thon week that you read.)

Plot Twists

In this class I will be teaching everyone how to be creative with plot twists. These books will be the reading material:

n.png

Day 6 – Minute of Names

So this challenge was to find books in under two minutes that spelt out your name. My name is fairly long (Charlotte) and I actually finished right when my alarm went off! It’s a bit hard to see, but my name is spelt out starting at the top with Confess.

IMG_2124.JPG


How’d you go in the BookTube-A-Thon?

Image Map
2 thoughts on “BookTube-A-Thon

  1. Very good site! I really love how it is simple on my eyes and the articles are well written. I’m wondering how
    I might be notified anytime a new post has been created.
    I have subscribed to your RSS which should do the trick! Have a terrific day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

