July Wrap-Up and August TBR

It’s August now! I started back at university yesterday and I cannot believe that it’s my last semester. I’m really bummed about that. Anyway, let’s get into all the books I read in July and what I plan to read in August.

July Wrap-Up

In July I read five books! Basically all of the books I read in July had some sort of mystery that relied on a big plot twist being revealed.

I See You by Clare MacKintosh

Rating: 5 stars

A thought-out story that is full of suspense.

Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty

Rating: 3.5 stars

Well-written with good characters, but it has a less than average twist.

Feel Me Fall by James Morris

Rating: 4 stars

A young adult suspense that is full of twists and secrets. Review.

Misery by Stephen King

Rating: 3.5 stars

A creepy story with a great premise.

One of Us Is Lying by Karen McManus

Rating: 4 stars

I really liked the characters and reading about their secrets. (Brookie you should read it!)

Untitled.png

Favourite Book of the Month: I See You by Clare MacKintosh! The writing was really good, and out of all of these books it had the most believable and original plot twist.

Reviews for these books coming soon! Even though I am very behind on writing reviews.

So far I’m going pretty well with my 2017 reading challenge. (Feel free to add me as a friend on Goodreads.)

Screen Shot 2017-07-30 at 1.30.11 pm.png

July Book Haul

Untitled.png

August TBR

These are the books I plan to read in August:

Simon vs the Homo-Sapien Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

The Dry by Jane Harper 

The Selection by Kiera Cass

Untitled.png

If anyone would like to do a buddy read for any of these books, please let me know by commenting down below!

Writing Progress

My writing progress in June was really good (22,602 words). In July, there were not as many words written, but I’m still fine with what I produced. I decided to plan a different novel idea than the one I was writing for in June (don’t ask me why), and also wrote a short story that I submitted to a crime competition. The total number of words I wrote is around 10,113.

Melbourne Writer’s Festival

This year I’m going to the Melbourne Writer’s Festival! It is a week-long event for readers and writers between 25 August and 3 September. The events I’m going to are:

YA AMA

Sunday 27 August at 11am

Join two of the Festival’s most exciting YA novelists, Angie Thomas (The Hate U Give) and Melissa Keil (The Secret Science of Magic), for a live ask-me-anything session about young adult fiction. Hosted by Danielle Binks (#LoveOzYA).

Angie Thomas: YA Activism

Sunday 27 August at 4:00pm

Giving voice to young black Americans and chronicling their experiences of racism, The Hate U Give is the year’s most outstanding YA novel. Hear from author Angie Thomas as she argues for writing that can turn the political into the deeply personal as a way to inspire action and speak truth to power. Be inspired by this young, outspoken writer who is ready to hit three truths home: that life fuels art, art mirrors life, and books can change lives.

Seminar: Writing Another

Friday 1 September at 6:00pm

Indian–Canadian novelist Anosh Irani (The Parcel) and Singapore’s Kevin Kwan (Rich People Problems) lead this seminar on how to write diverse characters without speaking over real-life identities, and writers’ responsibilities when it comes to storytelling.

I also might go to the Harry Potter day, but I’m not too sure yet.


Thanks for reading,

Image Map
14 thoughts on “July Wrap-Up and August TBR

  1. Hi there very nice blog!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Superb ..
    I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds additionally?
    I am satisfied to seek out so many useful info here in the publish, we need work out extra techniques in this
    regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

    Like

  2. Its like you read my thoughts! You seem to know so much approximately this, such as you wrote the ebook in it
    or something. I believe that you just can do with a few % to force the message home a bit,
    however other than that, that is great blog. An excellent read.
    I will definitely be back.

    Like

  3. Howdy would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re
    utilizing? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different internet browsers and
    I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you suggest a good hosting provider at a reasonable price?
    Thank you, I appreciate it!

    Like

  4. Hi just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the pictures
    aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.

    I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same results.

    Like

  5. I was roaming Google for some cool music and videos of my favorite artists and I ran across your cool blog site, most on the time when I check out blogs I’m looking for anything particular and I leave right away after. But as part of your situation the info you’re giving in this write-up produced me wish to reply and show my appreciated, so We have bookmarked you blog as properly. Retain posting and thank you! =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

