The Writer’s Tag

Hey everyone,

I’m sort of out of ideas for posts at the moment. I thought I would just do ‘The Writer’s Tag’ because I’ve seen it around and have had it in my drafts for at least two months. It’s really fun to think about if you’re into writing.

What type of writing do you do? 

I like short stories and (attempting at) novels. I prefer fiction and never write poetry.

What genres and/or topics do you write about?

I like writing in many different genres, but mainly contemporary, romance, new adult, and mystery/thriller.

How long have you been writing?

I have been writing since I was about eleven (I’m 20 now). When I was a kid it was obviously just for fun!

Are you published?

A short story I wrote for an assignment was accepted by a publisher in Melbourne called Melbourne Noir. It was published on greeting cards and has been distributed at several book stores. It is only 1000 words, and it has an image that I didn’t do on the front of it, which I think is pretty cool. Otherwise, I haven’t published anything else.

IMG_1810

What was the first story you ever wrote?

Besides writing stories I cannot remember at school, there was one that I thought of when I was eleven. The idea came to me while I was trying to get to sleep and I thought, ‘I have to remember this idea so I can write it tomorrow!’. The next day I wrote it and it was about…worms. It was a ridiculous story, but the first story you write will always be ridiculous. I still have it somehow and it is so bad. It is only two pages long.

Why do you write?

Usually just because I think of an idea randomly and have an urge to write it down.

How do you find time to write?

I only write when I feel like it and it is not very often when I am going to university. Most of my assignments are to do with writing anyway so that sort of counts as writing. I am not really the busiest person in the world so it is not too difficult to find time.

When and where are the best times to write?

At nighttime before I am about to go to sleep. So around 7pm-10:30pm. I only ever write on my desk or in my bed. I think it’s a great idea to go to a coffee shop or library or something like that, so hopefully I’ll get into the habit of that one day.

Favourite food/drinks while writing?

I do not really think about food when I write. I just keep a bottle of water next to me.

Your writing playlist?

I find it too distracting to listen to anything while I write, so I definitely do not keep a writing playlist. I will always be switching the radio on and off because I cannot focus on the words with music playing, but I love listening to the radio!

What do family/friends/loved ones think of you writing?

They don’t really have any opinions on it. I am doing it as my university course so I hope they think it’s legit.

Parts of writing you enjoy the most?

Feeling so connected to your story that you just want to write for hours.

Parts of writing you find challenging?

I find it challenging to use the advice of ‘show, don’t tell’ because I never know if I really am showing! It’s also hard to know if I have incorporated all of the things I have learned and whether it will sound how I think it sounds to another person. It’s also stressful to have another person read my work, but doing it in university has helped. I used to hate the idea of ‘workshopping’ in my classes, but now I sometimes look forward to it, except when it’s my week for other people read my work (I like reading other people’s work better).

What do you write with and on?

I write on my laptop!

How do you overcome writer’s block?

I don’t! I guess I just overcome it naturally.

How do you motivate yourself to write?

I try to remember that it is actually easy and fun to write and that being lazy gets me nowhere.

Authors who inspire you as a writer?

Nicholas Sparks, Jodi Picoult, Colleen Hoover, Jandy Nelson, J. K. Rowling, Stephenie Meyer. These authors have all inspired me at one point in my life. But almost every author inspires me!

Books that inspire you as a writer?

Whenever I read a poorly written book that is what inspires me to write because I think I can do better! But there are so many books that make me want to write, like these books (that I like): I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson, and It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover. I really like literary fiction, but rarely read it, and that is because it is always like taking a gamble to see if I will be smart enough to get through it.

Best advice you’ve gotten as a writer?

My Novel Writing teacher last semester was great at giving advice. She taught me how to open with a great line in your book. This is something that I definitely overthink. She also said not to use adverbs, which I think is great! Now every time I see ‘happily’ or ‘sadly’ written I get frustrated because there are so many other ways of putting it. Another piece of advice is to just say ‘said’ rather than all the other ways of writing said because it distracts the readers from what the dialogue is. Speaking of dialogue, always make sure your dialogue has purpose and is important to the story! The phrase ‘kill your darlings’ is also so helpful. Okay, that’ll do.

Writing goals this year.

There are five months left in the year and in those months I will be finishing my last semester of university, freaking out about that, applying to post-graduate degrees, looking for a job, and graduating. I guess I can still have writing goals. I want to continue to write the novel I am writing and also submit short stories. Maybe a goal of one short story every month? Or is that too ambitious? I’m submitting one this week, so we’ll see how that goes.


Please do this tag if you are interested!

Thanks for reading,

Image Map
5 thoughts on “The Writer’s Tag

Leave a Reply

