24 hour Readathon Results

Hi everyone,

I saw on Twitter about a week ago that Zoe Herdt (readbyzoe) was hosting a 24 hour readathon and thought I should participate. I have never done a readathon before and was pretty excited to see one happening so soon. I finished the readathon yesterday, so read on to find out how it went!

There were a few other booktubers participating too.

Readathon TBR

My TBR consisted of three books, which was ambitious considering Truly Madly Guilty is so long.

Screen Shot 2017-07-11 at 3.12.38 pm  Screen Shot 2017-07-13 at 12.01.15 pm  Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 9.15.14 pm

Timeline of Day

9am

I woke up and started reading Truly Madly Guilty. I’m on page 98.

IMG_2039.JPG

10am

I had a 20 minute break to have breakfast and do a few other things. I had a reading buddy for most of the morning.

IMG_2041.JPG

11:45am

Lunchtime! I was really hungry so I had it early, and luckily it was leftovers so I didn’t need to make anything.

12:15pm

Back to reading. Currently on page 182. No one in my family has noticed I’m doing a readathon.

2:10pm

I’m on page 241, which is about halfway. The novel is 509 pages so I don’t even think I’ll be able to finish it today!

4:00pm

I took about an hour’s break to do a few things, but I’m continuing reading now. I think I’ll stick with reading Truly Madly Guilty because I want to know what the twist is.

7:40pm

After I had dinner, I read some more. I’m now on page 384. I’m super unimpressed with the twist, it’s not very interesting. It’s still a good read though, and last year it won the 2016 Goodreads fiction award.

I really want to finish the Netflix show Gypsy, so I’m going to do that now. It’s really good; I only have one and a half episodes to go.

9:14pm

I just finished the Gypsy show and are they serious with that cliffhanger ending… Oh well, back to reading.

11:30pm

I finished Truly Madly Guilty! Finally! I’m so tired – reading all day definitely made me very sleepy. I would rate it about 3.5/5 stars. The overall twist was not very interesting, but it was still a gripping read.

Total pages read: 411

Hours spent reading: 11

Pages per hour: 37

Overall, I thought it would be much more difficult! I was pretty engrossed in the story, but I wish I was more into the book length-wise so that I could have started another one.


Thanks for reading,

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

7 thoughts on “24 hour Readathon Results

  1. I’ve never done a readathon, but I would really like to try someday. It was certainly an ambitious TBR, but I think you did great 😃 I’ve recently watched a video of booktuber Regan (Peruse Project), and she started her 24h readathon at 1 pm, so she had the next morning to keep reading. That might be helpful! Well done!

    Like

  2. I’ve never done a readathon, but I would really like to try someday. It was certainly an ambitious TBR, but I think you did great 😃 I’ve recently watched a video of booktuber Regan (Peruse Project), and she started her 24h readathon at 1 pm, so she had the next morning to keep reading. That might be helpful! Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! 😊 It was actually really fun, I would definitely recommend giving it a go if you want to do a readathon! Thanks for telling me about Regan’s video, I love watching readathon videos. That’s a good idea to start at 1pm, then you can sleep in between!

      Like

  3. I love Liane Moriarty’s books but I haven’t read this one. I kept seeing the same reviews that the twist wasn’t that awesome….guess I’ll keep it on my TBR to pick up in 20 years 😂😂😂 great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

