Top 5 Wednesday: Children’s Books

The Top 5 Wednesday topic this Wednesday is “Children’s Books”. I have really fond memories of the books I read as a kid so it wasn’t too hard to come up with a list. I don’t think I’ve read a kid’s book since I was an actual kid so I can barely remember what they are about, but here are five nonetheless.

This can include Middle Grade (but try to recommend more than just Harry Potter and Percy Jackson!) Feel free to talk about your childhood faves or more recent reads. 

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey) and is currently hosted by Samantha (Thoughts on Tomes). For more information, check out the group on Goodreads.

1. Deltora Quest series by Emily Rodda

Screen Shot 2017-07-11 at 5.22.22 pm.png

I really liked Emily Rodda’s books as a kid. I think I read this series first and is what got me into reading her books. There was a message in the books about how the world is run and it taught me about politics and is very unfair. The main character is a young prince and he never saw his kingdom outside, as he was tricked into thinking the windows of happy people painted on them were real. He then learns of the poverty when he goes outside. I really liked the premise when I read it and it was very full of action.

2. Rowan of Rin series by Emily Rodda

Screen Shot 2017-07-11 at 5.23.18 pm.png

Rowan of Rin was my favourite Emily Rodda series, and along with Deltora Quest, I also read Rondo. I liked the adventure in the books and also the twist (or am I thinking of Deltora Quest?) I must have been around nine to eleven when I read these books. There was something about Rowan of Rin that I enjoyed the most, but I really cannot remember what that is. It is about a dragon…and it is a fantasy series.

3. Little House series by Laura Ingalls Wilder

Screen Shot 2017-07-11 at 5.24.14 pm.png

My American friend when I was ten had all of the eleven books and let me borrow them. I really loved them and thought the author’s stories were very entertaining and different. In every book it was a new time in Laura’s life, and went from when she was a young girl to when she was married. I remember some of the events, like when they were living in a house that her father built and when she taught at a school. I always thought it was weird that she married someone ten years older than her. I do not really remember much else of the series and never got to watch the television series (I couldn’t find it anywhere).

4. Confessions of Georgia Nicolson series by Louise Rennison

Screen Shot 2017-07-11 at 5.24.46 pm.png

These books aren’t necessarily children’s books but from the way they stand out on my bookshelf they certainly look like it to me. I was very obsessed with these books when I read them at age twelve. They were so funny that I would constantly laugh out loud at the jokes. Fortunately for me the last book in the series of ten books was released just a few months before I started reading them. I loved these books so much that I would read them during class at school. I probably looked like such a nerd but I didn’t care.

5. Goosebumps series by R.L Stine

Screen Shot 2017-07-11 at 5.25.12 pm.png

I absolutely loved the Goosebumps books. I can’t say how many there are – I think there are over 100 – and I definitely did not read all of them. I guess I read an amount between 10 and 20, and I think I sold all the ones I owned. Whenever I would go to my timeshare holiday place as a kid I would go to a secondhand bookstore and buy them for about $2 each. I cannot really remember even ten that I read, but the most memorable ones are Stay Out of the BasementThe Haunted Mask and Welcome to Camp Nightmare.


I much preferred series to standalone books when I was a kid. Now I can barely sit through a series.

  • What do you think of my T5W picks?

Image Map
12 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Children’s Books

  1. Great list! I think I have read Goosebumps.. but can’t remember.. it’s been so long haha.. and I love that movie Angus Thongs and Full Frontal Snogging on Netflix. I can’t wait to read the books 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read the Little House books but now I can’t remember much about them, so I didn’t include them on my list. But Goosebumps made my list. I read Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging as an adult and still laughed myself to tears. I wish I’d been able to find them as a teenager, because I think I would have loved that series. Great list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can barely remember them either, but I remember I really loved them 🙂 Goosebumps were so fun to read as a kid. I read Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging when I was 12 and enjoyed it so much! That’s great it still has an effect on adults, I kind of want to reread it now! Thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. ahh I loved Goosebumps too!! I must have read a similar amount- and I loved Welcome to Camp Nightmare- though I think my two favourites were Creep (I think that was it’s name- don’t totally remember) and Say Cheese and Die!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

