Writing Progress – June

I am on a two-month break from university in June and July and thought it would be a great opportunity to get some writing done. I love writing, and my uni course is even called Professional Writing and Editing. But during the uni semesters I always write for assessments rather than my enjoyment. Some of my assessments are fun, like for one class called Novel Writing I got to plan a novel and write the first chapter. Sometimes, though, the assessments are boring and hard, so I don’t have the motivation to write for fun.

In June I decided to do a lot of writing. I found a story I wrote almost two years ago and even though the writing was very bad, I thought the idea was still okay. So I re-wrote what I had written and continued on with the story.

Here is all of the writing that I did in June, which I documented daily:

  • 4 June: Found the old story and read it. Cringed a lot.
  • 5 June: Decided to edit and re-write it. The first chapter was only 1,100 words long so I quickly re-wrote it. I also added another 1,200 words to the chapter. Total: 2,312.
  • 6 June: I wrote a lot more today! Somehow I wrote 3,591 words. That’s way more than I usually can write in a day. Total: 5,903.
  • 7 June: I didn’t feel like writing much today. In the evening I started at about 9pm and managed to write 636. Total: 6,530.
  • 8 June: I wrote some more today. I think I started at around 7:30pm and wrote until 11pm, which is late for me. I wrote 1,542 words. Total: 8,089.
  • 9 June: Today I wrote 855 words. Total: 9,032.
  • 10 June: I was not able to write much today, but still got 445 words done. Total: 9,458.
  • 11 June: Today I wrote 887 words. I’ve hit 10,000 words! Total: 10,351.
  • 12-16 June: I wrote NOTHING on these days. My motivation left me and took a vacation.
  • 17 June: My motivation came back and I wrote 1,259 words in about three hours. Total: 11,590.
  • 18 June: Today I wrote 1,910 words. Total: 13,524.
  • 19 June: I only wrote 630 words today. Total: 14,207.
  • 20 June: I wrote 1,115 words. Total: 15,335. For some reason I also felt like writing a short story and also wrote 639 words of that.
  • 21 June: I felt as though my story sucked for most of the day but still managed to write 1,401 words. Total: 16,686.
  • 22 June: I was only able to write 661 words today. Total: 17,260.
  • 23 June: Today I wrote 899 words. Total: 18,291.
  • 24 June: 736 words written. Total: 19,029.
  • 25 June: 1,098 words written. I did something weird and decided to start writing in a different point of view (third person). I was writing in first person in the beginning but realised I just prefer third person. I don’t know if I should change the rest but I probably won’t bother just yet. Also, I’ve reached 20,000 words, yay! Total: 20,130.
  • 26 June: Just 658 words today. Total: 20,813.
  • 27 June: 343 words written. Total: 21,159.
  • 28 June: 728 words. Total: 21,883.
  • 29 June: Nothing.
  • 30 June: 719 words. Total: 22,602.

s

So in my month of writing I managed to write 22,602 words. My average per day (excluding the days I didn’t write) was 1,189 words. So if I continue this, and have a goal of reaching around 80,000 words, I should write the first draft in approximately 67 days. I think it is achievable, but I do tend to take breaks sometimes. I am sure I will hate it when I finish anyway.

giphy-1


  • Are you working on a writing project right now?
  • I’m going to try to continue again in July!

Thanks for reading! I am currently on a cruise, so if you leave a comment I might not see it for a while, but I will definitely respond to it eventually!

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

12 thoughts on “Writing Progress – June

  1. Amazing progress Charlotte! I *just* started keeping track of my daily word count in an excel file this past weekend, so I’ve got awhile to go before I have anywhere near enough data to graph any sensible information. I really kind of love the accountability of keeping track though. Even if I set myself a very small goal for the day- say 500 words, I feel compelled to reach it and have carried on past it thus far once I’ve gotten myself going. Wishing you lots of motivation for your writing in the future! Enjoy your cruise!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Excel works really well, and it’s so much more motivating when you put in the word count at the end of the day. Setting a small goal is great, I didn’t set daily goals but I got into a habit of writing about 800 words per day, so I would always hope to go over what I wrote the day before! Hope your writing goes well too, I definitely recommend keeping track of it!!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! All I did was write the word count in the blog post and then put it into excel to see it as a graph! Next time I might try another website but I didn’t really think about it at the time.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s such awesome progress! I hope the process continues to go well for you. Are you participating in Camp Nanowrimo by any chance?

    I’m a fellow writer who’s new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m considering doing camp nanowrimo, it sounds like a great way to stay motivated and write more.

      As for tips I would say to interact with other bloggers (which you have already nailed) and just post anything you want to, you don’t need to stick to a schedule. Hope that helps 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for the tips, Charlotte! And you definitely should jump into Camp Nanowrimo. There’s still a lot of time left to write (or edit, or plot, etc) like the wind. Have a great day!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

