1 Year Blogging Anniversary

Today is my 1 year blogging anniversary! I am so thrilled to be celebrating this milestone, as I am very surprised that I actually kept going with this blog. This blog was initially intended to be a place to showcase my writing and book reviews, but it eventually turned into a book blog.

How I Started

A few months prior to starting the blog, I knew I wanted to create one. However, I was anxious to. I thought that no one would read my posts and that I would quit after a few weeks. But before the thought crossed my mind to start a blog, I coincidentally came across the BookTube community. This was a community that I didn’t even think would exist. One day on YouTube I was bored, and decided to see if there was a ‘Bookcase Tour’ video like there are plenty of ‘Room Tour’ videos. I clicked on the first result, which was a Sasha Alsberg video. I was interested in the fact that there were so many options to choose from, and spent some of the day watching more of her videos. She quickly become my favourite BookTuber! She is only two months younger than me, and has a very fun, bubbly personality.

But, at the time, I realised that I didn’t love books as much as she did. Or at all. All of the books in my bookcase were books that I had been obsessed with between the ages of 10-15. I wanted to feel that way about books again, and felt it was highly necessary because I was studying Writing and Editing. I immediately joined Goodreads and set a goal of 30 books to read in 2016. I added all of the books that I had read in the past, and realised I was much more well-read as a young girl than I was as an adult. With only having read six books in the first five months of the year, I ordered a few online, using Sasha Alsberg’s recommendations. She talked about books like Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas, Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout, and My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick. I went and read all of these, and decided that reading 30 books that year would help me improve my writing for my university course.

How I Progressed

After a month, I started my blog. However, all I posted were book reviews, and sometimes they were two weeks apart. Other times, I posted university essays or stories, and even a six-month vegan update. Eventually, I realised I wasn’t enjoying posting my outdated university assignments, and writing about veganism wasn’t as exciting as writing about books. But…it took me five months to come to this realisation.

Four months in, I finally decided to change my blog design (and if you’ve followed me for a while you will know it used to look awful). This tormented me for a while, though, and I was so embarrassed by how bad my graphic design skills were. Lucky, I invested a design from the website Creative Market, and don’t really worry about it anymore. I started writing monthly wrap-up and TBR posts, and I remember I would get so excited for it to be the end of the month because I had no idea what else to post! I also found the weekly meme ‘Top 5 Wednesday’, and those posts have been very fun to write. I still get really stuck for ideas though, but try to post three or four times a week.

2016 Compared to 2017

My stats in 2016 compared to 2017 are so different! It was January of this year that I decided I wanted to do more with my blog, and you can definitely see a leap in views compared to July-December.

20162017

Significant Posts

Goals for Next Year

  • Write more discussion posts.
  • Do a giveaway.
  • Do collaborative posts with other bloggers.
  • Create a weekly meme or blog tag/award.
  • Request physical copies of books.

Thanks for reading! I am currently on a cruise, so if you leave a comment I might not see it for a while, but I will definitely respond to it eventually!

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

11 thoughts on “1 Year Blogging Anniversary

Leave a Reply

