Fierce Fangirl Friday: Pretty Little Liars

I have decided to write a Fierce Fangirl Friday post about the recent Pretty Little Liars series finale. Fierce Fangirl Friday is hosted by Jackie @Too Much of a Book Nerd! I have seen Jackie and others do these posts on Fridays but could never really think of anything to fangirl to. I’ll probably only do this when I can actually think of something, but this time I am going to talk about Pretty Little Liars.

Whenever you have something, anything to fangirl about – whether it be a book, TV show, music, celebrities, your pet, the universe, finding your soulmate or just a recent meal that you’ve had – Fierce Fangirl Friday is your opportunity to do so! It doesn’t matter if it’s a recent obsession of yours or something you’ve been loving for a while!

Warning: I’m going to be talking spoilers, so if you haven’t seen the episode, you should.

Screen Shot 2017-06-15 at 5.13.18 pm

The finale was on Wednesday (well Tuesday for most people) and it went for two whole hours! I couldn’t watch it exactly as it aired, as I live in Australia, so there were TONNES of spoilers just waiting for me on Twitter. Somehow I managed to ignore them and watched the episode knowing nothing about who A.D. was.

So… A.D. is Alex Drake, A.K.A Spencer’s evil twin!

giphy-downsized

I was not really expecting Spencer to have a twin! I thought it was pretty shocking and I’m glad out of all of the girls it was something to do with Spencer, because she is my favourite. Troian Bellisario’s acting was really good and pretty believable.

Although I liked it, I think this show has so many things that don’t add up. Like what were Alex’s motives and how did she afford everything? Also why did a whole year pass before she did anything?

It would have been amazing if A.D. was someone in the close group of characters, such as Spencer herself, Aria or Toby. I would have been ten times more shocked if this had happened. I don’t know why for both A and A.D. they chose people we have hardly even seen on the show. But I still think it is very creative and the place where Spencer was kept was very creepy.

It was interesting to see a year pass. Alison had her babies and they were of course TWINS! Ezra and Aria were getting married, Hanna and Caleb were trying for a baby, and Spencer and Toby had a thing going on. Or did they? Turns out crazy Alex was pretending to be Spencer and hooked up with Toby. When Spencer asked for a goodbye kiss quite a few episodes ago I thought it was very strange at the time, so now we know it was really Alex. It’s weird how all of them except for Spencer and Toby either are married or are engaged now when they are only in their mid-twenties.

I think the most shocking thing to happen on the show was when we found out Alison was pregnant with Emily’s baby. That was INSANE!

I was also really glad that Mona took off a Melissa mask after she creepily stared at the camera a few times because the actual outcome was much better. Also Wren being involved was interesting – I know a lot of people suspected him to be A – but he has been quite absent for most of the show so I barely remember how he was related to Spencer’s storyline. And what was Alex planning on doing with the Wren/Emily/Alison babies, steal them? If she plans on pretending to be Spencer, how would she convince Toby to take their babies and live happily ever after? Her plan has serious holes.

And what was with that ending? Mona had kidnapped Mary and Alex and was keeping them in her basement in France. That totally makes sense… It was funny that they created little liars based around Addison but they literally just copied the very first episode. But I would definitely watch a spinoff.

The episode was very entertaining and overall really enjoyable. I’ve been watching the show since about season 3 and it has kept me entertained for a pretty long time!

Bye Pretty Little Liars!

Screen Shot 2017-06-28 at 4.50.37 pm.png


  • What did you think of the PLL finale?

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

10 thoughts on “Fierce Fangirl Friday: Pretty Little Liars

  1. Excellent review Charlotte. I thought the ending was pretty good although being rushed they didn’t have the amount of time to get every secret revealed. I’ll add more of my thoughts in my own review soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I will be blunt!!! IT SUCKED lol i was really hoping for a better ending. Plus what i noticed with the Little Liars it looks like they actually go off of the book as Spencer has blonde hair in the book and in the show had brown! Also i would watch a spin off IF all the pretty little liars had babies plus Mona and have Mona’s baby be Little A and the other girls babies be the Little Liars and the twins one can be A.D. Just my theory lol I will admit there are A LOT of HOLES in the ending and i felt they rushed it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t want to rant too much but I agree with you, it was pretty bad! They definitely go off the book haha. That sounds like it would be a good spin off, much more interesting than with random girls we don’t know like in the finale. They did rush it and i would have liked to see Alex more than we did. If they showed us who Alex was a few episodes ago then it may not have been so rushed.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. YAYYY I’m happy to see you’re participating in FFF for the first time! And no pressure, it’s super hard to find things to talk about — I struggle with it A LOT XD

    And I stopped watching PLL around season 5 (I believe?) because I just felt like it was just dragging on and on and I didn’t have it in me to keep watching and seeing the same things over and over again. I’ve heard that a lot of people were disappointed with the ending though! My friend who’s a huge PLL fan was so angry about it especially the whole twin thing and I can totally understand! I feel like it was super rushed and it didn’t make a lot of sense?? It’s like the writers themselves didn’t really know who A.D. was supposed to be so they created this completely new character!

    But as I said, I haven’t been watching for a while so I can’t really speak for anyone XD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome, I’ll definitely try to participate whenever I can! 😀

      You’re pretty spot on even though you didn’t watch it! It started getting kind of bad season 5 so I’m surprised I continued, and that first A reveal was weird so I didn’t really expect anything super amazing! Haha the episode did feel very rushed and that’s so true, the writers probably had no real clue who A.D was!! I don’t really care that much but I’m secretly glad it’s over now!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

