Top 5 Wednesday: Side Ships

Hi everyone,

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday post is ‘Side Ships’. Because I have a bad memory, I am going to mainly choose from television shows.

Tell us your favourite relationships that don’t involve the protagonist!

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey) and is currently hosted by Samantha (Thoughts on Tomes). For more information, check out the group on Goodreads.

1. Ron and Hermione from Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling

c3a9ccdfa853e6478ceb08f15fdc5aa5c00d4ed3

One of the things I was excited about while reading Harry Potter was the inevitable coupling of Ron and Hermione. When I read it at age 12, I knew it was coming. But when? I seemed to take forever, but eventually, it did! And I was so happy, even though all I really got was ONE SENTENCE.

2. April and Andy from Parks and Recreation

andy & april

Okay, so it is just so much easier to think about television shows. April and Andy are both a hilarious and cute couple.

3. Monica and Chandler from Friends

monica-and-chandler-1450704743-list-handheld-0

Does this count? Probably not. I love Friends and when Monica and Chandler got together I was stoked. I especially loved that they had to hide their relationship for a while. There is one episode called ‘The One Where Everyone Finds Out’ that I have seen like ten times.

4. Piper and Alex from Orange is the New Black

rehost2016913910fc23a-e8fb-4da2-b21c-58ba2028cdee

I know Piper is the main character, but there are so many characters that it is almost like she isn’t. I really like their relationship, even though it is built on crime.


  • Oops I only thought of 4.
  • Do you agree with my list?

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Side Ships

  1. Great list……I especially love Monica and Chandler….hmm…who doesn’t!
    One of my favourite literary side ship is Levin and Kitty from Anna Karenina. Their stable relationship only highlights the destructive passion of Vronsky and Karenina.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

