May Wrap-Up and June TBR

It is time for another wrap-up and TBR! I feel as though this month lasted a long time and I low-key hated May. Oh well! I’m on a two-month break from university now, even though for some of it I’ll still be working on assignments. In two days I have a 4,000 word essay due 😞 Later in the month I am visiting my grandparents and then at the start of July I am going on a cruise, so I sense a lot of time to read 😜

May Wrap-Up

In May I was a very slow reader. I guess I didn’t really feel like reading as much. However, I did read exactly what I predicted I would in my May TBR!

Zenn Diagram by Wendy Brant screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-39-17-pm

  • It was a very sweet and intriguing read.

The Breakdown by B. A. Paris screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-38-29-pm

  • It was interesting to see how everything played out.

Roses of May by Dot Hutchison screen-shot-2017-01-27-at-1-08-54-pm

  • I was really let down by this book and started skimming it because the plot was boring.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-33-51-pm

  • A very thought-provoking and exceptional read about race.

Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 6.51.18 pm  Screen Shot 2017-03-25 at 3.23.25 pm  Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 6.51.46 pm  Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 6.55.05 pm

Books Purchased

FullSizeRender 2  FullSizeRender

I love the covers of these books, they are so pretty (especially Geekerella)!

June TBR

The Secret Place by Tana French

I tend to read books in the order that I purchased them, so this one is number one on my list. Does anyone else do this?

Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Geekerella is everywhere on book blogs so I had to check it out. It was available at Big W and I couldn’t believe it. I bought it without even checking the price. It’s okay, I think it was about $14.

Hush Little Baby by Joanna Barnard

Somehow I only have one more NetGalley book to read. Luckily this one is not published until August so I have a while to read it.

Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 9.44.24 pm  Screen Shot 2017-05-20 at 8.19.19 pm  Screen Shot 2017-05-27 at 12.25.50 pm

Other

Published Short Story

This month I found out that one of my short stories is being published! I initially wrote the story for a project subject that I am doing at university and did not predict the story would be accepted anywhere. The story will be published on cards and distributed at three different book stores in Melbourne, Australia. It is only 1000 words and has an illustration attached to it. I saw it the other day and love how it looks.

Orange is the New Black Season 5

Screen Shot 2017-05-27 at 12.04.10 pm
Image: Variety

There’s something else I’m really excited for and that is Orange is the New Black! I love this show and always binge watch the latest season in a few days. I really hope I don’t do that this time because binge watching television does not work well with me. I am always like a zombie for a few days. The cliffhanger for last season was pretty intense so I cannot wait to see what happens. Season 5 will be released on 9 June, after most of my assignments are due 😏


  • Have you read any of these books? 📚
  • Do you watch Orange is the New Black?

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

16 Comments

  1. I watch OITNB! The last season those last few episodes… got really deep. So I agree I can’t wait to see what happens.
    Congratulations on your short short being published!🌻✨

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

