Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Minor Characters

t5w template

The Top 5 Wednesday prompt this week is ‘Favourite Minor Characters’. This one is quite challenging because when I finish a book I usually forget about everything except for the main characters. As it is confusing knowing what a minor character is versus a side character, here is the definition from Samantha:

Minor characters are less than a sidekick or a side character (but not in our hearts!) Everyone will have a different definition of what makes a minor vs a side character but just as an example, I’d consider Ron and Hermione side characters, while Lavender Brown, Oliver Wood, and Dean Thomas are minor characters.

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey) and is currently hosted by Samantha (Thoughts on Tomes). For more information, check out the group on Goodreads.

1. Rosalie Hale from Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

giphy

It was hard choosing just one from Twilight but I settled on Rosalie. She is really mean in the books but I still liked her.

2. Fred and George Weasley from Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling

giphy-downsized (1)

I cannot really differentiate the two so in this case they are practically the same person. They brought comedy to the books and I laughed so hard when I read that ear line in the last book. Their shop that they owned for a while was really awesome and I also loved how they left the school!

3. Dee Black from the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Screen Shot 2016-12-31 at 5.02.32 pm

Dee is a really funny and sweet character. It would have been great if Katy had interacted with her a bit more. I also thought it would have been cool if Dee had dated someone else instead of that bland character I cannot remember the name of.

4. Stefon from Saturday Night Live

giphy-downsized (2)

So now I cannot think of anyone else in books that have really stood out to me. My favourite comedy character on Saturday Night Live that had me in hysterics every time he was on is Stefon (Bill Hader). I loved this character so much when he was on and I would always hope he would come on when Weekend Update went on. Bill Hader left a few years ago but he made a comeback once and married Seth Meyers, which was really funny.

5. Andy Dwyer from Parks and Recreation

giphy-downsized

Andy Dwyer came to be one of the main characters but in the first season he seemed more like a minor character. Andy was very hilarious and the progression of his character was so enjoyable to watch. I really miss Parks and Recreation!


Oh man, this was seriously a tough post to write! I can barely remember the names of the main characters in books let alone the minor characters. It will be interesting to read everyone else’s posts.

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

10 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Minor Characters

Leave a Reply

