10 Young Adult Books on my TBR

book chat template

Young Adult is one of my favourite genres and there are so many books that sound fantastic that I haven’t had a chance to read yet. I have put together a list of 10 books that are the highest on my Young Adult TBR. I did the same recently with mystery/thriller and it was such a great way of organising my TBR. I would classify all of these books as either contemporary or romance. Young Adult comes in so many genres so this list of books are relatively similar!

*Synopses adapted from Goodreads

1. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 6.55.05 pm

Quick Synopsis: Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer.

My Thoughts: I have heard a lot about this book, which is why it’s on my list. I already have a copy of it and should be reading it very soon.

2. Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Screen Shot 2017-05-20 at 8.18.41 pm

Quick Synopsis: Simon is not out at his school and the only person who knows is Blue, a boy he has been emailing. After an email of his falls into the wrong hands and he starts being blackmailed, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business.

My Thoughts: I love the idea for this novel! I have heard so many people rave about it and I want to finally get to reading it.

3. Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Screen Shot 2017-05-20 at 8.19.19 pm

Quick Synopsis: Geekerella is a cinderella retelling about Elle Wittimer, a girl who is completely obsessed with Starfield. When she sees a cosplay contest to meet the actor set to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot, she is excited to try and make her dreams come true.

My Thoughts: This sounds really cute and I don’t think I have ever read a princess retelling. That along with the actor status of the love interest makes this novel very appealing to me.

4. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Screen Shot 2017-05-20 at 8.19.42 pm

Quick Synopsis: Lara Jean has loved five boys in her life and has written secret love letters to all of them. One day her letters are mailed out to the boys and her love life goes from imaginary to out of control.

My Thoughts: This sounds like it could have the potential for an interesting romance. The synopsis does not name any of the love interests so that makes it very mysterious and intriguing.

5. One of Us Is Lying by Riley Redgate

Screen Shot 2017-05-20 at 8.20.08 pm

Quick Synopsis: Five students walk into detention but only four make it out alive. Simon’s death was not an accident and those four who accompanied him in detention are all suspects.

My Thoughts: NetGalley rejected me to read this book but I still think it sounds really intriguing. This is a mystery and I think mysteries in young adult can be very good when done well.

6. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

Screen Shot 2017-05-20 at 8.20.37 pm

Quick Synopsis: It was who Sloane helped bring Emily out of her shell and make her life more interesting. But when they are supposed to have an epic summer together, Sloane disappears and leaves behind a to-do list of adventures intended for Emily.

My Thoughts: This novel seems as though it will be a great story of self-discovery with the possibility of a romance. I really like the sound of it and have been meaning to read a Morgan Matson book for a while.

7. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Screen Shot 2017-05-20 at 8.21.18 pm

Quick Synopsis: Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison and Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common, but a friendship quickly blooms between them.

My Thoughts: This could be a really quirky romance between two complete opposites, and I love those kind of romances.

8. When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 8.56.59 pm

Quick Synopsis: Dimple and Rishi are two Indian-American teenagers whose parents have arranged for them to be married. They may think they have each other figured out but when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

My Thoughts: I think this novel sounds very interesting and I love that it has two POC protagonists! I literally see it everywhere.

9. More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

Screen Shot 2017-05-20 at 8.22.14 pm

Quick Synopsis: Life has been tough for 16-year-old Aaron after his father committed suicide. When his girlfriend Genevieve leaves for a few weeks, Aaron starts hanging out with this new guy, Thomas, and cannot ignore the burst of happiness he begins to feel.

My Thoughts: This synopsis actually makes me want to read the novel now! I love LGBTQ+ romance but this one sounds really sad (if you read the reviews) and I have to be in the right mood to read it.

10. The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Screen Shot 2017-05-20 at 8.18.18 pm

Quick Synopsis: Natasha is a girl who believes in science and facts. When her family is hours away from being deported to Jamaica, she sees Daniel in the crowded streets of New York and falls in love with him.

My Thoughts: I have seen this book everywhere but had no idea that this is what it is about. I love New York and rarely read books set there, so having a romance in my favourite city should be exciting to read about


This is such a great way of organising my TBR! As I said before, I did the same for thriller/mystery and have already read one from that list. Hopefully I will read them by the end of the year and will do a post reflecting on the Young Adult books.

  • Have you read any of these?
  • What book do you think I should read first?

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

24 Comments

  1. I haven’t read any of the books on the list. I think I’m going to read Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, it sounds nice. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh such a fun list- so many books I loved and so many I want to read!! I loved Ari and Dante, To all the boys I loved before, and Since you’ve been gone 😀 And I’m so keen to read the Hate U Give and More Happy than not!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just read when dimple met rishi and one of us is lying and they were both really good. When dimple met rishi was better though, I absolutely adored it 🙊! I really want to read since you’ve been gone because it’s been on my TBR forever, I’m planning on reading it this summer. Same goes for more happy than not! Great list 💖

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve read about half of these but Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda and The Hate U Give are some of my favourites! They are both super cute, important and diverse reads, and relatable! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Honestly, Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda is one of my favourite YA books. The second Becky Albertalli book, The Upside of The Unrequited is just as good. Both a definite must-read from me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

