Future Leaders of Nowhere by Emily O’Beirne

future

Publication Date: 15 March 2017

Publisher: Ylva Publishing

Genre: Young Adult

Pages: 270

Rating: screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-39-17-pm

Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 6.50.26 pm

Finn meets Willa while on a camp that collects the six most highest achieving students to compete with other schools and win a month-long leadership game. When Finn reluctantly agrees to being the person in charge of her group, she must work diligently with those around her to bring her team success. Willa and Finn bond over being in charge and vow to not talk about the game while in each other’s presence. Told in the perspectives of both girls, this story follows the challenging aspects of going to a leadership camp and falling in love for the first time.

‘Finn’s solid. Not in body, but in being. She’s gravity and kindness and all those good things that anchor.’

‘Willa’s confusing. Sometimes she’s this sweet, sensitive soul. Other times she’s like a flaming arrow you hope isn’t coming for you.’

This novel is very sweet and easy to read. It only took me around two or three days and I adored the characters. The feeling of adventure is very evident in the book, which is something I don’t often see in romance. This adventure aspect is a really entertaining aspect to the book and is likely the main plot rather than the romance.

While it is told in both the perspectives of Willa and Finn, the format is Finn for the first half and Willa for the second half. This must be the first time I have seen this way of doing two point of views. It made me become more attached to Finn and I was disappointed when I had to read Willa’s point of view. Even though I started to love Willa’s character, I still felt like I was missing something, and that was Finn’s voice. I had become so used to reading from Finn’s perspective that introducing someone new was confusing. This made me prefer the interchanging perspectives that most books do where two characters take turns.

There are quite a few characters in the novel so the only memorable ones are Willa and Finn. The campers in Finn’s group are diverse and interesting whereas Willa’s group sound exactly the same. I also wondered about the teachers, as they were rarely included in the book. I don’t know if this kind of camp exists in Australia but I do sort of doubt it would happen.

The writing is quite average but I do not like to dwell on the writing style of an author. Also, there are over 80 chapters, which I do think is too many, even though short chapters are really helpful to a reader. These are really my only criticisms and why I took off a star, because otherwise it was a really enjoyable read.

There is a sequel coming out later in the year so hopefully I will get a chance to read it when it comes out.

I would recommend this book to those who like romance and young adult. It is cute and quirky so a perfect book to read if you are in the mood for something light-hearted.

Thank you to YLVA for the advanced reader copy that I received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


  • Have you read Future Leaders of Nowhere?

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

2 thoughts on “Future Leaders of Nowhere by Emily O’Beirne

Leave a Reply

