Charlotte Chats – May

Charlotte Chats

Currently Reading

Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 6.51.46 pm

I am currently reading Roses of May by Dot Hutchison. Her first book, The Butterfly Garden, was a whirlwind of a book to read. When I realised that the companion novel was coming out soon and saw that it was on NetGalley, I was so excited to read it. If you like thrillers then check out The Butterfly Garden. It is about a group of girls imprisoned in a place called the Garden.

Goodreads synopsis:

Four months after the explosion at the Garden, a place where young women known as the Butterflies were kept captive, FBI agents Brandon Eddison, Victor Hanoverian, and Mercedes Ramirez are still entrenched in the aftermath, helping survivors in the process of adjusting to life on the outside. With winter coming to an end, the Butterflies have longer, warmer days of healing ahead. But for the agents, the impending thaw means one gruesome thing: a chilling guarantee that somewhere in the country, another young woman will turn up dead in a church with her throat slit and her body surrounded by flowers.

Priya Sravasti’s sister fell victim to the killer years ago. Now she and her mother move every few months, hoping for a new beginning. But when she ends up in the madman’s crosshairs, the hunt takes on new urgency. Only with Priya’s help can the killer be found—but will her desperate hope for closure compel her to put her very life on the line?

Latest TBR

Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 8.56.59 pm

My latest TBR is When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon. I have been seeing it everywhere and I love getting recommendations from people who adore a book I wouldn’t usually pick up.

Goodreads synopsis:

A laugh-out-loud, heartfelt YA romantic comedy, told in alternating perspectives, about two Indian-American teens whose parents have arranged for them to be married.

Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

Films I Viewed

I have a subject at uni where every week we watch a film in the lecture. There was a film I watched called Foxy Brown (1974) that I wasn’t really paying attention to and didn’t enjoy. I also missed the week where we watched Mad Max Fury Road (2015) because I didn’t really want to watch it. The other two films were Flashdance (1983) and Mulholland Drive (2001), and I enjoyed them so I that’s why I’m going to talk about them!

Flashdance (1983)

Rating: screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-38-57-pm

Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 9.09.28 pm

Okay, so I didn’t give Flashdance a high rating but still thought it was really entertaining. There were so many ridiculous scenes and I thought that most of the characters were strange. The film felt very intimate and different from other mainstream films I have seen. The romance was kind of bad in my opinion, because it was an eighteen-year-old getting on with a thirty-ish(?) man. It was a weird film, which was why I always stayed clear of it whenever it was on the television in the past.

Mulholland Drive (2001)

Rating: screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-37-01-pm

Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 9.12.14 pm

There is so much to say about this film but it only means anything if you have seen it too. I absolutely loved this film and thought that the symbolism was weird yet creative. The ending was so strange and completely unexpected, but made sense once you thought about the first half of the film. I would definitely recommend it if you’re a movie buff!

My brother and I started watching some Hayao Miyazaki films because he is really into anime right now. This is the third time I have been forced into watching anime but it was still pretty enjoyable.

Spirited Away (2001)

Rating: screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-38-29-pm

Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 9.10.09 pm

Spirited Away is definitely one of the weirdest films I have ever seen. There were so many parts where I just like ‘WTF’. The animation was great and the storyline was definitely unique. One character (no face) was super creepy and will stick with me forever.

Howl’s Moving Castle (2004)

Rating: screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-38-29-pm

Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 9.13.20 pm

I liked this film slightly better than Spirited Away. I think that is because the main character was closer to me in age and it was more of a romance film than an action one. It was weird and confusing like Spirited Away, but definitely not as creepy.

I didn’t seem to watch many films this month!

Television I’m Currently Enjoying

Big Little Lies (2017)

Rating: screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-39-17-pm

Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 9.19.14 pm

This miniseries is very dramatic and interesting to watch. I stopped after four episodes and then took a two month break for some reason, but am getting back into it now that I have read the book. I am really bad at enjoying television this year and I think that is because I have started reading more.


  • Have you read or watched any of these?

Thanks for reading,

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

8 thoughts on “Charlotte Chats – May

Leave a Reply

