April Wrap-Up and May TBR

wrap-up and tbr template

Hey everyone!

April is over and I had an average reading month. I was more into reading earlier in the month and by mid-April was sort of sick of it. It took me 10 days to read Big Little Lies, which isn’t that long, but it felt like forever! So I struggled a bit this month because I was focusing more on my university assignments and felt guilty about reading. Then I also started my new job, which drained me completely because I’m not used to working 8 hours a day.

April Wrap-Up

In April I managed to read five books. One of the books I read was The Yellow Birds by Kevin Powers, which is a book I reread over the course of three weeks to write an essay. Here are the books that I was able to read!

The Hating Game by Sally Thorne – screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-33-51-pm

A wonderful read that was very unputdownable.

Do Not Become Alarmed by Malie Maloy – screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-38-57-pm

I enjoyed the mystery, but there were too many characters.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – DNF

I really tried to get into this one! I just couldn’t understand the language and what was going on. I feel like an idiot for not liking it.

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty – screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-37-01-pm

This book was full of complex stories and interesting characters.

The Yellow Birds (reread) by Kevin Powers – screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-38-57-pm

I still think it is a three-star read, but it is written very well.

Future Leaders of Nowhere by Emily Bairne – screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-39-17-pm

A very cute romance set at a camp in Australia!

Screen Shot 2017-03-26 at 7.38.56 pm  Screen Shot 2017-03-26 at 7.37.32 pm  Screen Shot 2017-03-24 at 3.52.54 pm

Screen Shot 2017-03-26 at 7.38.14 pm  screen-shot-2017-02-23-at-10-41-07-am  Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 6.50.26 pm

Full reviews of some of these books coming soon!

May TBR

I am pretty excited for the books I have to read in May. After not ordering a book from Book Depository for around four months, I realised that I didn’t have any books in my bookcase that I hadn’t read yet. So the last two are books that I have bought from Book Depository and just arrived a few days ago! The first two are NetGalley books.

Zenn Diagram by Wendy Brant

This is a buddy read with Jasmine @How Useful It Is!

Roses of May by Dot Hutchison

I’m so excited to read this! It is the second book in The Collector series by Dot Hutchison (the first book was The Butterfly Garden) and I just got it on NetGalley!!!!

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Everyone has been reading this and loving it so I wanted to join in on the fun.

The Breakdown by B. A. Paris

This book has been on my TBR for a while and I want to finally read it.

Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 6.51.18 pm  Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 6.51.46 pm  Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 6.55.05 pm  Screen Shot 2017-03-25 at 3.23.25 pm

I am really pumped for the books available for me to read in May. They all sound so good.


  • Have you read any of these? Do you want to?

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

 

12 Comments

  1. I have never read Pride and Prejudice but I’ve read a few other books by Jane Austen and I am always struggling with the language!
    Yay for Future Leaders of Nowhere! It was such an adorable read! And I still need to read The Hating Game but I hear it’s amazing! Hope you enjoy the books from your May TBR! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pride and Prejudice was kinda tricky for me to understand so I don’t think I’ll be picking up another Jane Austen book for a while! Yess it was such a cute read! Very enjoyable and quick too 🙂 Thanks so much, hope you enjoy yours too, and definitely check out The Hating Game if you want a fun romance!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

