November 9 by Colleen Hoover

hate

Publication Date: 10 November 2015

Publisher: Atria Books

Genres: Romance, New Adult

Pages: 310

Rating: screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-39-17-pm

Screen Shot 2017-03-26 at 7.37.05 pm

November 9 by Colleen Hoover follows Fallon and Ben, who make a pact to each other to meet on November 9 for the next five years. Ben is an aspiring novelist, who uses their story as an inspiration for his book. While trying to become an actress, Fallon is still suffering greatly over an accident she was in two years ago. As each November 9 comes and goes, the two have doubts about the other and struggle over their true feelings.

‘When you find love, you take it. You grab it with both hands and you do everything in your power not to let it go. You can’t just walk away from it and expect it to linger until you’re ready for it.’

The best part about this story is that it is a page-turner. I finished it quickly and loved reading the story. The plot is gripping and progresses at a speed that allows for a lot of action to take place. This is ultimately because each new chapter is a different year, and the characters have grown, with new plot twists arising.

It is told in the perspectives of Fallon and Ben, which seems to be standard in a Colleen Hoover novel. I liked both the characters. I could sense the chemistry between them, and their emotions were quite dramatic, sort of like in a When Harry Met Sally kind of way. Ben is one of the strongest male characters out of all of the Hoover books that I have read, and is my new favourite. Fallon’s past is horrifying and sad, and I definitely was impressed by how her career changed. Her past made her strong and extremely likeable.

The plot twist is one of those slightly unbelievable ones. It made me roll my eyes rather than feel shocked or have sympathy. This left me with a strange feeling and I would love to hear if other people felt the same. Because of the plot twist near the end, I couldn’t believe a particular person’s motives as to why they did what they did (trying not to spoil anyone). It made me incredibly confused and overwhelmed.

Besides the unsettling plot twist, I thought that the overall story of Fallon and Ben was very creative and unique. The premise of meeting every year on November 9 is such a great idea for a romance story. Because only one day of each year is written about, we do not learn much about Fallon or Ben’s background, but this creates a magical sort of setting. An insight into their family and careers is shared, but not highly explored. While this could be frustrating to some, it did not bother me.

I loved how quickly I was drawn into this novel, and could really feel the connection between Fallon and Ben. I would recommend November 9 to fans of romance.


  • Have you read this book? Do you want to?
  • Do you have a favourite by Colleen Hoover?

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

11 Comments

  1. I have enjoyed all of CoHo’s books so far. And ‘November 9’ was no exception. It was one of easier to read, with less gut-wrenching turmoil, more like a rom-com with a bit of drama thrown in. A nice change. Though that plot twist also had me going… really?
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts, look forward to seeing what you review next.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review! This book has been on my TBR for a looong time! Hopefully I’ll get to it soon.
    My favourite CoHo book has definitely got to be It Ends With Us. I still can’t get over Ryle though, he was perfect until everything else happened 😭

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

