Charlotte Chats – April

Charlotte Chats

Hey everyone,

Last month I created ‘Charlotte Chats‘, a post to talk about the book I am currently reading, my latest TBR, and a media that I recently enjoyed. This month I have improved the format so that I can talk about more things, like the films and television that I have viewed too.

Currently Reading

Screen Shot 2017-03-26 at 7.38.14 pm

I am currently reading Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty. I have watched about three episodes of the television show and thought I should read the book before watching any more. It is quite enjoyable so far, and really reminds me of her other book, The Husband’s Secret. Her writing is very distinctive.

Goodreads description:

Big Little Lies follows three women, each at a crossroads:

Madeline is a force to be reckoned with. She’s funny and biting, passionate, she remembers everything and forgives no one. Her ex-husband and his yogi new wife have moved into her beloved beachside community, and their daughter is in the same kindergarten class as Madeline’s youngest (how is this possible?). And to top it all off, Madeline’s teenage daughter seems to be choosing Madeline’s ex-husband over her. (How. Is. This. Possible?).

Celeste is the kind of beautiful woman who makes the world stop and stare. While she may seem a bit flustered at times, who wouldn’t be, with those rambunctious twin boys? Now that the boys are starting school, Celeste and her husband look set to become the king and queen of the school parent body. But royalty often comes at a price, and Celeste is grappling with how much more she is willing to pay.

New to town, single mom Jane is so young that another mother mistakes her for the nanny. Jane is sad beyond her years and harbors secret doubts about her son. But why? While Madeline and Celeste soon take Jane under their wing, none of them realizes how the arrival of Jane and her inscrutable little boy will affect them all.

Big Little Lies is a brilliant take on ex-husbands and second wives, mothers and daughters, schoolyard scandal, and the dangerous little lies we tell ourselves just to survive.

Latest TBR

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 10.00.00 pm

My latest TBR is A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara. It is a deep, sad, and very depressing book that won many awards and was very popular in 2015. I added this to my TBR because my Novel Writing tutor talked about how good it is, and I wanted to give it a go.

Goodreads description:

When four classmates from a small Massachusetts college move to New York to make their way, they’re broke, adrift, and buoyed only by their friendship and ambition. There is kind, handsome Willem, an aspiring actor; JB, a quick-witted, sometimes cruel Brooklyn-born painter seeking entry to the art world; Malcolm, a frustrated architect at a prominent firm; and withdrawn, brilliant, enigmatic Jude, who serves as their center of gravity. Over the decades, their relationships deepen and darken, tinged by addiction, success, and pride. Yet their greatest challenge, each comes to realize, is Jude himself, by midlife a terrifyingly talented litigator yet an increasingly broken man, his mind and body scarred by an unspeakable childhood, and haunted by what he fears is a degree of trauma that he’ll not only be unable to overcome—but that will define his life forever.

Films I Viewed

I loved the films I watched this month. For one of my classes, we view a film every week in the lecture. I have enjoyed every single one of them so far, and these have been the latest since my last post.

Shock Corridor (1963)

Rating: screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-39-17-pm

Screen Shot 2017-04-15 at 10.01.28 pm

My lecturer says this is his favourite film. It is about newspaper writer who pretends to need mental help so that he can be admitted into a psychiatric ward and solve a murder mystery. It was very fascinating and the themes tied in nicely with the story.

The Graduate (1967)

Rating: screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-33-51-pm

Screen Shot 2017-04-15 at 10.00.25 pm

This film was fantastic. The narrative was so well done and the way it played out shocked me in the end. Even though I went to see a live play version of the film a few years ago, I couldn’t remember what happened and loved that I was surprised. If I remember correctly in my class, this was the first film to use a soundtrack, and the song ‘The Sound of Silence’ worked amazingly with the main character. It was also very funny!

The King of Comedy (1983)

Rating: screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-37-01-pm

Screen Shot 2017-04-15 at 10.00.51 pm

This film was directed by Martin Scorcese and stars Robert De Niro. It is about a wannabe comedian who stalks a late night talk show host to get a spot on his show. I thought the acting was really good and De Niro was very funny in it. The ending was brilliant and left it all up to the audience’s interpretation!

I watched a few other films for my own pleasure. They were:

When Harry Met Sally (1989)

Rating: screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-37-01-pm

Screen Shot 2017-04-15 at 10.02.22 pm

Basically every movie Meg Ryan has been in is great, and this one was too. The progression of the pair being acquaintances, then friends, and then romantically involved is smooth and realistic. The dialogue was good, and overall the film was very enjoyable.

Lolita (1997) 

Rating: screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-39-17-pm

Screen Shot 2017-04-15 at 10.03.28 pm

I read the book a few weeks ago and felt I should watch the film. It was fairly loyal to the book and was a decent adaptation. Although the story hurts my brain every time I think about it.

Jasper Jones (2017)

Rating: screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-37-01-pm

Screen Shot 2017-04-15 at 10.05.39 pm

I also read the book that was based on this film. It was five years ago, though, and I couldn’t remember anything about it. I liked how everything tied together in the plot and would definitely recommend it.

Some films that I didn’t enjoy were The Edge of Seventeen (2016) and Jackie (2016). I didn’t watch all of it, but the film Zoom (2006) was on the television the other night and it was so bad! Has anyone else watched these and wants to disagree with me?

Television I’m Currently Enjoying

I do not watch as much television as I used to, but I still watch a fair amount. Even though I probably like more, I will just include two shows that I am really liking right now.

The Last Man on Earth (2015-present)

Screen Shot 2017-04-11 at 4.03.58 pm

This is currently my favourite television show. A genre I consume religiously is comedy, and this show makes me laugh every time I watch it. It is created by Will Forte, a previous Saturday Night Live cast member. The show focuses on a group of people who come together because everyone else in the world has died from a virus. It is kind of like The Walking Dead, but without zombies and sadness.

13 Reasons Why (2017)

Screen Shot 2017-04-11 at 4.05.02 pm

I was going to read the book first, but then I caved one night. I only watch this show about twenty minutes at a time because I can never handle any longer. I am up to episode 9. Still, I think it’s entertaining and I like the overall premise of it. The message is important too, and I have never seen a High School drama like it before.


  • Have you watched or read any of these texts?

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

3 thoughts on “Charlotte Chats – April

  1. I haven’t seen any of those movies or the TV shows 🤦‍♀️ But I’ve heard a lot of good things about 13 Reasons Why. I know what it’s about though and I think it’ll be too deep or sad for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

