Top 5 Wednesday: Top SFF Books on My TBR

t5w template

Hey everyone!

The Top 5 Wednesday topic for this week is ‘top SFF books on your TBR’. This entails finding 5 science fiction and fantasy books that you would like to read. I don’t read fantasy or science fiction very often, so I am sure you have probably heard of all of these books.

1. Divergent by Veronica Roth

Screen Shot 2017-04-04 at 2.19.50 pm

I really enjoyed the film Divergent. It was a surprisingly captivating film and I wouldn’t mind reading the books. Although, the reason I didn’t is because I stupidly read everything that happens on Wikipedia and wasn’t impressed with how it ends. Maybe it would be fun just to read the first book, though!

2. Replica by Lauren Oliver

Screen Shot 2017-04-04 at 2.20.55 pm

I am really intrigued by the synopsis of this book. A lot of BookTubers spoke about it last year, which really made me want to read it. I have read If I Fall by the same author, and I liked it, so maybe I will like this one too!

3. The Maze Runner by James Dashner

Screen Shot 2017-04-04 at 2.16.12 pm

This is another book that I would like to read because I enjoyed the movie. Like many science fiction/dystopian books, it has a fascinating premise that I would like to learn more about it by reading the book.

4. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Screen Shot 2017-04-04 at 2.22.19 pm

Yes, I have never read City of Bones. A few years ago in high school I went on an excursion with my book club and Cassandra Clare was one of the speakers. I don’t remember what she spoke about, but I remember one of the girls was a fan of her books and asked her a question. This seems like it is many people’s favourite book series, and I have always wanted to read it to find out why.

5. 1984 by George Orwell

Screen Shot 2017-04-04 at 2.12.52 pm

I am not really sure what this book is about, but I hear about it quite often in some of my classes. As it is a fairly popular classic, I would love to read this someday. It may also be interesting to read because 1984 has obviously already happened.


**Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey) and is hosted by Samantha (Thoughts on Tomes). For more information, check out the group on Goodreads.**

  • What do you think of these books?
  • Out of these, which one should I read first?

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

16 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Top SFF Books on My TBR

  1. How refreshing to see someone who hasn’t read Divergent! I love that despite how hyped a book can be, it still won’t reach everyone because THERES SO MUCH TO READ!!! haha. Although, I don’t really blame you holding off on this if you’ve read the ending of the series on Wiki… I have much the same thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 1984 is intense! I read it for the first time in high school and didn’t really appreciate it. But when I reread it in my 20’s I loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I still haven’t read 1984 but I hope I can get around to it soon! I love that Divergent, The Maze Runner and City of Bones were literally some of the first YA books I’ve read but you on the other hand haven’t read them yet! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on them! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Personally we think you should read Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones, however you shouldn’t go in reading with HIGH expectations – it gets way better further in the series. For Maze Runner the film was (in our opinion) far better…We liked the third book (Death Cure) though, so if you’re willing to read 2 books to read one okay-ish book then go ahead! We would say more but this comment is getting way too long LOL..😅

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s interesting, I won’t go into City of Bones with high expectations, but it might be hard because I hear about it all the time! Maze Runner was a good film, I don’t think I’ll be reading the book anytime soon 🙃 Haha thanks for your comment

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

