Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Angsty Romances

t5w template

Hey everyone!

Top 5 Wednesday is upon us once again! The theme this week is favourite angsty romances. I definitely was more obsessed with reading romances when I was younger, probably up until I was about 16. Although, when I used read a romance book, it had to have a happy ending, otherwise I wouldn’t read it. Most of these books are not typically angsty, but have some internal or external reason as to why the two characters cannot be together.

1. Dear John by Nicholas Sparks

Screen Shot 2017-03-17 at 3.04.34 pm

Nicholas Sparks is an acclaimed, popular romance author, so it seemed necessary to include a work from him in the list. Dear John, in my opinion, had one of the most angsty romances of his novels. As the main character, John, is in the military, he is often away from the love interest, Savannah, which I found to be difficult to read, because I wanted them to be together.

2. Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles

Screen Shot 2017-03-17 at 3.07.55 pm

This was my favourite romance book for a while! It is a really cute young adult book following a ‘popular girl’ and a ‘bad boy’. They embody particular stereotypes, but learn to break free from them after initially taking a while to like each other. It is a lovely romance, as it is given a unique, modern twist to make it different.

 3. Twilight by Stephenie Meyer 

screen-shot-2017-01-12-at-3-58-20-pm

Twilight is what got me into loving romance books, so I had to include it! Over the four books in the series, it is quite apparent how angsty the relationship between Bella and Edward can get. There are several reasons why they should not be together, the most obvious being that Edward is vampire.

4. Confess by Colleen Hoover

Screen Shot 2017-03-17 at 3.35.40 pm

Confess has a somewhat angsty romance, as what makes it angsty are the circumstances surrounding the characters. It is about Auburn, a troubled young girl with a tragic past, who meets Owen, an artist whom she starts working for. I did not enjoy this book as much as Colleen Hoover’s other books, but it was a gripping read in terms of plot twists. The romance was not entirely memorable, and I think I preferred the story to the romance.

5. Where She Went by Gayle Forman

Screen Shot 2017-03-17 at 3.34.02 pm

Where She Went is the sequel to If I Stay, which is about a teenage girl who is internally lost after something tragic happens to her family. Where She Went is the aftermath of the first book, and brings up the challenging memories of the past. Not only does it have an angsty romance, but the whole premise is sad!


**Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey) and is hosted by Samantha (Thoughts on Tomes). For more information, check out the group on Goodreads.**

  • What book has an angsty romance that you have read? I would love to hear some recommendations!
  • Have you read any of these books?

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

4 Comments

  1. I totally forgot about Perfect Chemistry! It used to be my favorite book when I was younger. I agree, their relationship is definitely frustrating. They were trapped in their own stereotypes, and have to fight them and people prejudice around them to be together ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

