Charlotte Chats – March

Charlotte Chats

Hey everyone!

I have decided to create a new monthly segment on my blog called ‘Charlotte Chats’. It will be mid-month – depending on the day’s convenience – and will be a way of sharing things that goes beyond my monthly wrap-up and TBR.

Currently Reading

screen-shot-2017-02-23-at-10-42-16-am

I am currently reading The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty.

When I was in my novel writing class last week, my teacher asked if anyone was reading any Australian texts. My hand shot up because this book is indeed Australian, and after I told her the title of the book, I realised it was not quite the type of ‘Australian text’ she had in mind. Her response was, ‘Ahh, commercial fiction.’

The Husband’s Secret is a very easy read, written with large amounts of dialogue and internal dialogue. I am really enjoying it so far because I like how the author was able to link the character’s stories together. The story opens with the readers wondering what the husband’s secret is in the first chapter, and I must say, it does not actually get shared for…a while.

If you can recognise the author’s name, it is probably because she has a television show based on her novel Big Little Lies currently airing. I have watched two episodes so far, but have not read the book. If I really like The Husband’s Secret, then I might read Big Little Lies before continuing the television series.

My Latest TBR

28815474.jpg

My latest to be read book from Goodreads is The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena.

Goodreads synopsis:

You never know what’s happening on the other side of the wall.

Your neighbour told you that she didn’t want your six-month-old daughter at the dinner party. Nothing personal, she just couldn’t stand her crying.

Your husband said it would be fine. After all, you only live next door. You’ll have the baby monitor and you’ll take it in turns to go back every half hour.

Your daughter was sleeping when you checked on her last. But now, as you race up the stairs in your deathly quiet house, your worst fears are realized. She’s gone.

You’ve never had to call the police before. But now they’re in your home, and who knows what they’ll find there.

What would you be capable of, when pushed past your limit?

I love thrillers, especially when they are targeted more towards the domestic thriller genre. It has been at least a few months since I have read a thriller, so I would like to get back into reading them soon. The Couple Next Door was released less than a year ago, and has become quite popular!

Current Media Favourite (TV, Film, or Music)

Screen Shot 2017-03-09 at 10.16.07 am

For a class that I am doing I had to watch the film Baby Face from 1933. It was very old-school and typically represented the era, but was actually really fun to watch. It is in black and white and is deemed a ‘talkie’, and was one of the last pre-code films before The Hays Code was re-enforced in 1934 (after being ignored my many in 1927). This code meant that filmmakers had to abide by certain rules presented to them, as, for example, these such practices were not allowed: ‘any licentious or suggestive nudity’, ‘scenes of actual childbirth’, or ‘ridicule of the clergy’. As I’m sure you have seen films with ‘nudity’ or ‘actual childbirth’ more recently, The Hays Code was eventually abolished by the late 1960s.

In Baby Face, a young woman called Lily (Barbara Stanwyck) uses her femininity and attractiveness to seduce men. She climbs up the ladder of men working in more prestigious departments within a bank to improve her financial status by sleeping with them. Lily does this because she comes from a poor background and unfavourably viewed men growing up. After she hears a speech about how she should use men to her advantage, she decides to move to New York to pursue this fantasy.

Screen Shot 2017-03-09 at 10.16.39 am

I was able to view the restored version that was found again in 2004. This version had scenes that were previously uncut, such as the suggestion of sex and a slightly different ending. The film was modified after being shown to The New York Censorship Board, where, for instance, a scene was dubbed over to exclude quotes, such as, ‘But you must use men, not let them use you’. Instead, what was dubbed over was a speech of morality in general without the mention of using men.


  • To be honest I created this segment just so I could talk about Baby Face. It was just not what I expected out of a film from the 1930s!

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

Leave a Reply

