10 Series That I Couldn’t Finish

book-chat-template

Hey Everyone!

I am not an avid reader of books that are in a series, as most of the time I do not like the first book and cannot bring myself to read the next. I have most likely stopped reading more books in a series than ones that I have been able to finish.

Here is a list that I compiled of 10 series that I just couldn’t force myself to continue reading.

screen-shot-2017-01-29-at-1-21-29-pm

1. Halo by Alexandra Adornetto

I read the first book of this series before the next books had come out. I was not particularly fond of the first book and never felt the need to read the next two. The author started writing this series when she was just 16-years-old, and wrote her first series at the age of 13, which was called The Strangest Adventures. I actually finished that series and really enjoyed it.

screen-shot-2017-01-29-at-1-22-59-pm

2. Gossip Girl by Cecily von Ziegesar

The characters in this series were even more conceited that the TV show. I managed to read 7 of the 13 books before giving up, as it started to sound repetitive and I thought I may as well just watch the show.

screen-shot-2017-01-29-at-1-24-16-pm

3. Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard

Another long series that is a TV show. When I realised that there were 18 of these books, I knew I would not be able to cope. Although, I do think the reveal of ‘A’ makes a bit more sense than the TV show!

screen-shot-2017-01-29-at-1-24-53-pm

4. Fallen by Lauren Kate

I read Fallen soon after it was published in 2010, and bought Torment as an impulse buy when it was released a few months later. I struggled to read the first book and never even attempted reading the second.

screen-shot-2017-01-29-at-1-25-28-pm

5. The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini

I wanted to read this series for years before I finally bought them. When I started reading them, I just couldn’t understand what was happening because I am not a fan of fantasy. Unfortunately, I have 3 of the 4 books, but never even finished the 1st.

screen-shot-2017-01-29-at-1-25-51-pm

6. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I really liked the first book in this series! I was very shocked by what would happen in the next book to give it a good chance, and was too annoyed to finish reading it. I do agree that it is a good series, but personally couldn’t read it.

screen-shot-2017-01-29-at-1-26-21-pm

7. Inkworld by Cornelia Funke

It is an interesting series, but I cannot remember why I didn’t finish it! I was only 11-years-old and probably wanted to do other things.

screen-shot-2017-01-29-at-1-27-05-pm

8. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

I tried to read the Throne of Glass in 2016 but, like I said earlier, cannot read fantasy books. Maybe I do not have a good concentration or something. I liked the story, but ultimately found it too boring to go on.

screen-shot-2017-01-27-at-1-23-45-pmscreen-shot-2017-01-29-at-1-36-11-pmscreen-shot-2017-01-29-at-1-36-28-pm

9. The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

I did not even finish the first book in the series. Too little happened to keep me captivated.

screen-shot-2017-01-29-at-1-28-40-pm

10. The Vampire Diaries by L. J. Smith

This series is very confusing. I enjoyed the first 4 books that were all published in 1991. Then there was another series published in 2009 called The Vampire Diaries: The Return, which I stopped reading after book 7. For some reason there were 13 books in total and 3 different authors, and the events that took place after the first 4 books made no sense. I also stopped watching the TV show after about the fifth season, but, admittedly, it was better than the books.


  • I’m sorry if I included a series that you really enjoyed!
  • Let me know if I’m completely wrong and should have stuck to it.

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

Leave a Reply

