The Ultimate Book Tag

ul.jpg

Hey everyone!

The Ultimate Book Tag was created by Megan on Goodreads and is my very first book tag! I have never been tagged in one before so I decided to find a fun tag to do myself. This is a tag of 20 book-related questions, and I will try to keep my answers short.

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

When reading in the car I do not get sick, and that likely is because I have never been carsick before. After reading in the car for a few hours I definitely get bored, though.

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

Many authors have unique writing styles. I like Colleen Hoover’s novels because they always have a unique twist that I never see coming, and makes the romance much more interesting.

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? 

Personally, I preferred the Twilight Saga, but that is only because I am not a fan of fantasy nowadays. However, I do love both series. I read Twilight first when I was 12, and then a few weeks later read Harry Potter, but know that I preferred Twilight more because I read heaps of fanfiction about it. Now, of course, I am not a massive fan of either, as it has been 7 years since I read the books.

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is it in (besides books…)?

I carry a book in my backpack sometimes when I travel places. My journey to university is 1-hour long, so I spend around 30 minutes of that reading either on the train or waiting for the train. Other things that are in it include my laptop, purse, water bottle and phone.

5. Do you smell your books?

Interesting question, but I do not smell my books. I do like to hold them fondly and stare at the cover, though.

6. Books with or without little illustrations?

Depends on whether it looks good or not and actually aides to the plot. For example, the illustrations were really beautiful in the novels Confess by Colleen Hoover and I’ll Give you the Sun by Jandy Nelson.

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing? 

I guess this question has the novel Twilight in mind. So, that is my answer. I remember one day, only a year or two after I had read it, I was talking with a friend who had also read it. She said that she looked back over the writing and found it to be written terribly. At the time, I thought she was wrong, because the series was perfect in my eyes! She was probably right.

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

When I was around 12-13, I had a friend who liked reading as much as I did. We were in the library at school during lunchtime and were laughing at some sexual joke in a book (I cannot remember which one). This other girl in our class came up to us and asked us why we were laughing, but we couldn’t tell her because it was really embarrassing.

9. What is the thinnest book on your shelf?

The play Death of a Salesman by Arthur Miller. It is 112 pages.

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

A book called At Swim, Two Boys by Jamie O’Neill that I never finished. It is 643 pages.

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

I would love to be an author. It has always been a dream of mine.

12. When did you get into reading?

I have always loved reading, there was one book in particular that got me interested in it. In primary school, when I was about 8, our class had to spend about 1 hour in the library per week. Usually I just walked around aimlessly and chatted to friends because I did not care about reading. One day, I decided to actually look for a book, and chose the prettiest, most inviting book on the shelf. I borrowed it and enjoyed reading it so much that I made my mum go to the bookstore after school and look for the sequel! The book was called Diary of a Would-Be Princess by Jessica Green and I still have the sequel to it on my bookshelf.

13. What is your favorite classic book?

My favourite classic would have to be In Cold Blood by Truman Capote. Classics are very difficult to read so I generally only read them when I have to for school. This year, I am planning on reading Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen and Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov.

14. In school was your best subject Language Arts/English?

I do not know what Language Arts refers to, but yes, it was English.

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated…what would you do?

It would be okay. Maybe I would try to exchange it, or ask why the giver of the book liked such a terrible book so much.

16. What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?

I can only give an answer that is well-known because I do not read fantasy or science fiction/whatever the Hunger Games is. The Vampire Academy series is somewhat like Harry Potter.

17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while filming?

I will just pretend it says ‘while book blogging’ instead of ‘while filming’. My bad habit is that I just cannot decide how I want my blog layout to be and lately have been changing it every week! I’ll try to stop one day.

18. What is your favorite word?

When I write, I use the word ‘toward’ a lot.

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

Obviously a nerd.

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

When I was a kid I would have said fairies, and a few years ago I would have said vampires. Now, I really don’t care enough to have a preference.

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

Probably angels? Like I said in my previous answer, I don’t really care (maybe because I don’t read these kinds of books, not that there is anything wrong with them).

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

What are spirits? As in alcohol? I’m pretty certain it does not mean alcohol.

23. Zombies or Vampires?

Is it weird that I’ve never read a book about zombies? Although I watched that movie Warm Bodies, and that’s the only time I have enjoyed watching something with zombies in it.

24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

I prefer forbidden love. Love triangles can get predictable.

25. Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

I do not really mind, as long as there is romance. Sometimes I cannot read a book with no romance. At the moment I like a bit of action, but more along the lines of conflict.


  • Thank you for reading my first book tag. If you would like to do this book tag, then I tag you! Let me know if you do it so that I can read your answers.

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

Leave a Reply

