Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Polarising Books

t5w pol.jpg

Hey everyone!

Now that I am really getting into blogging I decided to join the Top 5 Wednesday group on Goodreads and participate on my blog! Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey) and is hosted by Samantha (Thoughts on Tomes). I may not be able to do it every week, but hopefully I will manage around 2-3 times a month.

This week’s topic is to choose 5 polarising books, which refers to books that people either love or hate. I found it difficult to think of polarising books that I liked, because polarising books are easy to hate.

These are 5 books that I have read and found that I mostly enjoyed:

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-5-01-53-pm

1. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

In the thriller Gone Girl, Nick and Amy have been married for five years. Nick returns to his house one morning to find that Amy is missing, with the furniture in the living room in disarray. The readers question Nick, and wonder where Amy is.

What I loved most about Gone Girl was the twist. Many people, it seemed, hated it, and also despised the ending, which I thought was rather thought-provoking.

screen-shot-2017-01-12-at-3-58-20-pm

2. The Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer

When Bella moves to the small town of Forks, Washington, she meets the mysterious Edward Cullen, who she finds out is a vampire. They form a romance, and the series of the four books covers the difficulties of their relationship.

This is an easy one to put on the list. I am one of the many readers who was obsessed with Twilight. Quite a few people thought these books were written poorly, but when I read the books as a twelve-year-old, I did not notice.

screen-shot-2017-01-12-at-3-58-53-pm

3. Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling

After Harry Potter finds out he is a wizard, he moves out of his aunt and uncle’s home and into Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Dealing with Lord Voldemort is the main challenge Harry faces in this seven-book series.

Everyone loves Harry Potter! And so do I. I read these books when I was twelve-years-old, probably just a few weeks after I finished Twilight. I find these books are polarising in that everyone loves them, and not many people either just like or hate them.

screen-shot-2017-01-12-at-3-59-17-pm

4. Unbearable Lightness by Portia de Rossi

Unbearable Lightness is a memoir about Portia de Rossi’s struggle with an eating disorder and her sexuality. During the years filming Ally McBeal was most difficult for her.

From looking at the Goodreads page, this book is not loved by many, but it is currently my second favourite memoir. This novel really resonated with me, and I thought that the way she wrote about her raw and real emotions was unlike any memoir I have ever read.

5. The Fault in Our Stars by John Greenscreen-shot-2017-01-12-at-3-59-39-pm

The Fault in Our Stars is a young adult novel. In it, Hazel is terminal, and aware of her upcoming fate. While in a cancer support group, she meets Augustus, and they fall in love.

I really liked The Fault in Our Stars. Some, I think, were frustrated with how it romanticised cancer, and some did not like how it was written. I read this when I was about 16, which was around the same age as the main character, so I could really relate and sympathise with her.


  • Do you agree that these books were polarising?

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Polarising Books

Leave a Reply

