Done Dirt Cheap by Sarah Nicole Lemon

dirt.jpg

*Thank you to Amulet Books for the advanced reader copy that I received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.*

Author: Sarah Nicole Lemon

Publisher: Amulet Books

Genres: New adult, contemporary

Rating: screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-38-57-pm

Done Dirt Cheap by Sarah Nicole Lemon is a new adult novel that will be released 7 March 2017.

Done Dirt Cheap is centred around the friendship of two young girls at the beginning of adulthood. Tourmaline and Virginia come together with manipulative intentions, but become friends quickly during the summer. Tourmaline’s father is part of the Wardens, a motorcycle club, which is what most of plot is focused around.

There was something intriguing about the motorcycles that even sounded romantic at times. There was a hint of romance in the novel, which managed to make the setting feel different and in tune with the genre.

‘She could tell by the tip of the night, the rush of her heart, off racing again, but in an entirely different pitch. She could tell by the bike. By the way he stopped in an easy, controlled near slide when she moved into the road. No one she knew stopped like that.’

As shown, the writing was good and oftentimes easy to follow. I found, however, that it was sometimes difficult to gauge whose perspective it was out of Tourmaline and Virginia, as the story was told in both of their point-of-views. I could not clearly identify how the voices differentiated, which occasionally made me forget which character I was reading from.

I preferred Tourmaline’s story/perspective, as Virginia’s was confusing. Virginia’s job was strange, and Tourmaline’s life was more interesting and enjoyable to read about. Especially Tourmaline’s relationship with her father and his club was fascinating, and so was learning about the Wardens.

There was a sense of mystery in the novel that was captivating. It was interesting to see how all of the characters connected and were involved. The reveal was somewhat predictable and did not surprise me, yet I was still satisfied by the ending.

The plot was slightly hard to understand, perhaps because the majority of the novel was dialogue. The dialogue was dry and there was possibly too much of it. Because of this, I could not always be certain where the characters were and what was going on. This made the plot hazy to me. 

Overall, I liked the unique friendship between the girls. They had a turbulent dynamic, which made them appear realistic. As of yet I have not read about a friendship like theirs, but I hope to see more like it.

I would recommend Done Dirt Cheap to fans of new adult books and those who want to see a good friendship between two girls.

screen-shot-2017-01-09-at-1-30-12-pm

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-38-57-pm


P.S. I hope you like my new ‘reviews’ design, and sorry I keep changing it. I am not so great at graphic design.

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

Leave a Reply

