The Chemist by Stephenie Meyer

the chemist.jpg

Publication Date: 8 November 2016

Publisher: Little, Brown and Company

Genres: Thriller, mystery

Pages: 512

Rating: screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-39-31-pm

I was really excited to read The Chemist. Stephenie Meyer also wrote the Twilight Saga, which I was a big fan of when I was 12-years-old. Her new release is very diverse compared to Twilight, but it still has a hint of romance and action. I commend Meyer for trying something different, as it shows that she is interested in trying new things.

The protagonist’s name is supposed to be a mystery during the first few chapters, but I will call her ‘Alex’ to avoid confusion. Alex is an ex-government employee, on the run and constantly changing her location to avoid being caught. After two years in hiding, her former boss gives her an opportunity to complete a job for the company that she used to work for, and Alex sees this as a way to return to her old life.

The protagonist was fascinating and clearly good at her job. She was very independent and was able to fight on her own. Torture was a method she used to get the truth out of people, but made me sympathise with her less because it seemed immoral. Nonetheless, she was still a good main character.

There was some romance in the story. It was between Alex and Daniel, whom she meets while doing the job that her former boss gave her. I liked the romance, even though it oddly started out with Alex torturing him. At one point, though, there was a lull in the plot where nothing really happened, and I felt as though it was just to build romantic tension.

I am quite certain that I have never read a crime/mystery novel before, and unfortunately found this one to be rather anti-climactic and boring. The book was longer than it needed to be in my opinion, as it was 512 pages long, and oftentimes while reading I became tired of reading pages and pages of unimportant information.

Her writing was pretty good and well-suited for an adult audience. The dialogue was okay. One of Meyer’s strengths I find is her dialogue – it seems to usually work well. However, considering there were a few scenes and information in the novel that to me seemed unnecessary, the dialogue sometimes fell flat.

Something that I also enjoyed about the novel were the dogs. They were a cute addition to the story. From my pessimistic review (which I really hate writing), it seems as though there was not much that I liked from this book. When I finished The Chemist, I just could not think of anything that I really thought was good about it.

Alas, I would recommend The Chemist to fans of mystery and crime.

fullsizerender
screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-39-31-pm


  • Have you read The Chemist by Stephenie Meyer and agree or disagree with my review?

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

Leave a Reply

