My True Love Gave to Me by Stephanie Perkins (and others)

love.jpg

Authors: Holly Black, Ally Carter, Matt de la Pena, Gayle Forman, Jenny Han, David Levithan, Kelly Link, Myra McEntire, Stephanie Perkins, Rainbow Rowell, Laini Taylor, and Kiersten White.

Publication Date: 14 October 2014

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Genre: Young adult

Pages: 321

Rating: screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-39-17-pm

My True Love Gave to Me is a collection of 12 short stories by various young adult authors and edited by Stephanie Perkins. Here is what each story is about and my quick thoughts on them:

Midnights by Rainbow Rowell – 5/5 stars

Mags meets Noel on New Year’s Eve at a Christmas party in 2011. This story was cute and light-hearted, and seemed to embody what a festive short story should be like. It was quite enjoyable and I found it relatable in the sense that Mags was progressing into adulthood, which was something that I experienced recently.

The Lady and the Fox by Kelly Link – No rating

I got confused quickly and did not finish reading after the first few pages.

Angels in the Snow by Matt de la Pena – 4.5/5 stars

Shy spends Christmas cat-sitting for his boss in an apartment in New York during the time of a blizzard. He meets the girl, Haley, who lives above him and the two bond after Haley’s shower breaks. This story was slightly sad, as it focused on two people who were spending Christmas alone. I thought it was sweet and appreciated the fast-moving plot.

Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me by Jenny Han – 4/5 stars

Natalie is a human living in the North Pole. It is a very festive story, and uniquely told. It is refreshing to have a story like this mixed in, as it reminded me of how I thought as a kid. The reason I deducted a point is because it seemed too unreal and the relationship between the human and the elf was weird.

It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins – 5/5 stars

Marigold buys a Christmas tree from a young boy working at a Christmas tree lot and they spend the night together hanging out. I thought this story was creative, yet simple. There were many bits of information about Marigold’s life that I really liked, such as her vegan mother and her Pagan religion. It was definitely one of my favourites.

Your Temporary Santa by David Levithan – 3/5 stars

The unnamed protagonist (or is he named? I couldn’t find one) agrees to pretend to be Santa for his boyfriend’s younger sister. This story was sweet and light-hearted, and I love that the short story collection added an LGBT-focused story. It was more family oriented than the other stories, focusing less on the romance (though there still was a good romance between the two).

Krampuslauf by Holly Black – No rating

I tried reading this one, but I got bored because of the confusing description.

What the Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth? by Gayle Forman – 3/5 stars

Sophie is a Jewish college student who makes a friend out of Russell on the last night of Hanukkah. It was a story about being different, which was needed in this short story collection to include different holidays. (What was with the cheese on pie, though?)

Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus by Myra McEntire – 2.5/5 stars

I kind of skimmed over this one. It was about a guy who has to spend hours doing community service for a Church, and he connects with the Pastor’s daughter.

Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White – 4.5/5 stars

Maria is living in a town called Christmas, working at a Christmas-themed restaurant. It’s very festive! I really enjoyed this short story, as it was touching and even made me cry a little bit.

Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter – 3/5 stars

One girl switches flights with another girl to escape where she is meant to be. There was a hint of mystery to this story, which I found interesting. I would have rated it more if not for the unrealistic/abrupt ending!

The Girl Who Woke the Dreamer by Laini Taylor – No rating

Too much description for a short story. I did not finish it.

Overall, My True Love Gave to Me had some great stories that I hope I will think of at Christmastime. I read this book two days before Christmas, so it really got me excited for Christmas. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to read something festive.

screen-shot-2017-01-10-at-7-16-05-pm

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-39-17-pm


  • Happy Holidays!

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

