The Gravity Between Us by Kristen Zimmer

gravity.jpg

Publication Date: 17 October 2013

Publisher: Bookouture

Genres: New adult, romance

Pages: 310

Rating: screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-38-57-pm

The Gravity Between Us is told in the perspective of two girls in alternating chapters. Kendall is a nineteen-year-old movie star living in Los Angeles, and her best friend Payton is a student living in New Jersey. They have been friends since childhood, but do not see each other as often as they once did due to Kendall’s newfound stardom. Payton soon realises that she has romantic feelings for Kendall, and what makes it hard for her to handle is when Kendall invites Payton to live with her in Los Angeles.

The relationship was cute. My favourite character was Payton, because I could not relate to Kendall’s emotions about being famous. Payton also seemed slightly self-absorbed. In different wording, Payton stated that she did not like the fame, but I think that a young, beautiful girl in Hollywood would initially enjoy being famous. Although, my view is subjective. While I liked Payton more, the characters and their thought process seemed very similar, and there were several times that I had to remind myself whose perspective I was reading from.

When I started the book I really enjoyed it and was excited to see where the story would go. The premise of the novel was something that intrigued me. When I got past the first few chapters, however, I started to enjoy the story less and less.

As it is a romance novel, they are typically supposed to be overly unreal, so I understand the many unrealistic occurrences. However, there were so many times while I was reading the novel that I had to look away from it because I was so annoyed by the dialogue. The dialogue was quite basic and the characters sometimes sounded as though they were too eloquent.

The storyline was obvious and cheesy, which is not always a bad thing. I liked the idea of Kendall being famous, as it was an easy way to make the readers captivated by the story. Because of the way that the story was set up, I could predict what was going to happen, even the ending.

I did not necessary enjoy the book, but I would still recommend it. There are not many gay romance novels to choose from, so read this one if you like the premise. Although I have not read many, my favourite one so far is Dating Sarah Cooper by Siera Maley. It had the concept of two best friends falling in love, but did not seem forced. The Gravity Between Us is recommended for people 17 and over.

Screen Shot 2017-01-10 at 7.21.29 pm.png

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-38-57-pm


screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

Leave a Reply

