Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

crown.jpg

Publication Date: 27 August 2013

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children

Genres: High Fantasy, Young Adult

Pages: 418

Rating: screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-38-57-pm

As this is the second novel in the series, I would not recommend reading this review unless you have read the first one.

Celaena Sardothien is now the King’s Champion, and must kill whoever’s name is written on a piece of paper that is systematically given to her by the king. Along with completing these assassins, Celaena faces another challenge that brings the secret of magic closer toward her. Conflicts arise between Dorian, Chaol and Nehemia, and once again Celaena has difficulties with her love life.

Maas has excellent writing skills and I am often impressed by the way in which she writes. Her story and plot is expertly mapped out, and this book has plenty of twists and surprises. Especially the twist at the end was shocking, even though I had it worked out.

Something I find tedious is the multiple perspectives. I do not think it needs to be done, as purely Celaena’s point of view would be sufficient.

Although a lot of people rated this book 5 stars, I decided that to me it was 3 stars. It took me over 2 weeks to finish and I did not enjoy sitting down to read it. I do not blame the novel particularly because I have never been a fan of fantasy novels, which is mostly because I cannot stand the confusing world and continuous action. I do not see myself reading the next books, but I will definitely tune into the television series that is currently in the works.

If you really enjoyed Throne of Glass then definitely continue reading the series. There are 6 books in the series, but only 5 are available at the moment.

img_0179
screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-38-57-pm


screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

