Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

gone girl.jpg

Publication Date: 24 May 2012

Publisher: Broadway Books

Genres: Mystery, Thriller

Pages: 422

Rating: screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-38-29-pm

I watched the film in 2014 when it first came out and thought it was exceptionally thrilling and emotional. The twist in the middle and the various twists as it went on were so shocking to me at the time that I really enjoyed the film. As I already knew the chilling reveal whilst reading the book, I was obviously not as shocked like I was watching the film.

Nick and Amy are the characters that are primarily focused on in this novel. They have been married for five years, and it shouldn’t be surprising to state that they are not happy in their relationship. Nick returns back to his house one morning to find that Amy is missing, with the furniture in the living room in disarray. The readers question Nick, and wonder where Amy is. Secrets are revealed along the way that determine what exactly has happened to Amy, and the media and police are heavily involved in the search.

The twists and the ending was very shocking and well thought-out, so that was what I appreciated the most in the book. If you do not know much about the story, go into reading this book not knowing the twist because you will hopefully be as impressed as I was. The ending was fantastic – despite the opinion of many – and left me with questions to consider, which is something many books fail to achieve.

The reason that I did not give it 5 stars is because the writing was slow and at times challenging to get through. There were many unnecessary sentences and paragraphs that only served the purpose of showing what kind of character Nick and Amy were. As the story progressed slowly, it was difficult during the first half of the novel to really understand the story. The second half was easier to read, and finally became thrilling.

The writing for Amy’s character was almost all just her thoughts, which was often boring to read. Although I guess not much action could have been put in, I would have liked to see more scenes when it came to Amy’s parts of the novel.

Because I preferred the second half over the first, my rating was altered higher than to what I had initially considered (3 stars). It was mostly the action that got me through to the end.

I recommend Gone Girl to people who love thriller and mystery, and especially appreciate a good twist. However, if you need a book that is fast-paced, perhaps it would be better to just watch the film. The writing has mature language and sex scenes, and therefore would not be ideal for younger readers.

gone_girl_review_1-0
Rosamund Pike and Ben Affleck in Gone Girl (2014)

screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-38-29-pm


screen-shot-2016-12-31-at-9-28-57-pm

Leave a Reply

